What do you cheer for?

What do we spend our lives cheering for? Tonight Jackson’s hole is echoing with the cheers of the rodeo crowd that gathers every Saturday night. Think of the scenes in the movies Gladiator and Brave Heart where the enemy’s yells and cheers echo over the hilltops and through the woods, thats what tonight’s cheering reminds me of! Startling at first to hear so many people filling an entire valley with there voices of praise. We cheer because we like something or are so stoked we can’t hold it in right? This makes me think of the things that I like to join with people to cheer for; Soccer games, World Cup, The Olympics, Concerts, Snowboarding.

 

Its interesting to think about the things that we take time to cheer for. I found myself thinking; why would people cheer so loud for a rodeo! Kinda seems useless to me! Then I realized how easy it is to have that point of view when something isn’t up-your-alley. My cheering is just as useless as theirs is on an eternal scale. What is God’s view of cheering? He watches the things I cheer for and is probably stoked that we enjoy his creation and bodies he has given us, but how it must greave him that we don’t have the same attitude or emphasis on cheering and yelling his truth to those around us as we do for the things he has given us. I have so far to go in my understanding of truly cheering for my Savior!

“God did not say; “Taste and see that what I have given you are good.” But rather; “Taste and see that the Lord is good.” –Eric Davis

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What do you cheer for?

  1. Katie Johnston

    Very well written and thought provoking Jesse. Thank you!

  2. Agreed! I have been reading some stuff about cheering and praise from C.S. Lewis. Thanks for your thoughts! The better I know my Savior, the more I have to cheer and shout about!

Leave a comment