Saturday Morning Thoughts

Its a rainy Saturday morning here in Jackson, I’m waiting for the call into work, whenever this rain stops! I’m working Landscaping in and around Jackson Hole for one of  30 landscape companies that service this little money bloated town. After a work week filled with; cutting trees, filling landscapes, digging holes and planting trees. I realized that I have never seen so  many prayer flags in a single week. I’m going to take a guess and say that over 15 houses I was at this week had prayer flags up in the windows or hanging in the front yard. This is a decent picture into the culture, beliefs and lifestyle of people here in Jackson. There is a very high level of Eastern religion mixed with self reliance and experience oriented beliefs.

As I think about my life here in Jackson Hole I find myself in a weird limbo between fitting in and being completely different. What is it that makes me fit in so well here in Jackson? Well I drive a subaru the most registered car in the state of Wyoming, I love beanies and a good fleece, I ski and snowboard, I put stickers on things, I play frisbee, I hike and climb, I longboard, and I wasn’t born here.

What makes me so different from this town? It goes like this; I am not searching for truth, I found it already, I don’t find hope in “stuff”, I know who made this playground; Jesus Christ, I don’t put prayers on flags, I deliver them personally!!!

These are the things that constantly remind me of the state that this world is in, and the reason for my move to Jackson Hole. Pray that my true identity would be found in Christ and not the things of Jackson Hole! We must denying ourselves daily to display Christ and bring others in!

 

-Jesse

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Saturday Morning Thoughts

  1. What a great look at your differences and similarities with your peers in Jackson. Praying for a daily clarity of your identity with the Lord and that you will be a “peculiar person”! …have you been longboarding? 😉

  2. Dad

    Hey Jesseboy-
    Great synoposis of the similarities and differences…a ‘marked heart’! I’m praying that the differences will draw others to the One who releases, renews, redeems!
    What?….I just looked at Janell’s post…I DID NOT copy her reply!
    Love you-
    Dad

Leave a comment